Taking The High Road Through New Mexico

Standard

I am sitting here at a the Hampton Hotel on Route 66 in Falstaff Arizona, listening to a distant train and thinking how wonderful the last few days have been. We finally made it through the huge state of Texas. We stayed at another Hampton Inn (great beds!) in historic Kerrville. I mention it because the town has a neat vibe, and we ate at a popular spot by fluke called Grapejuice. It ‘s a wine, beer and  food bar. The place was jumping, the food was great and so was the bottle of wine!

We got into New Mexico happy to see Texas in the rear view mirror. I do like the speed limit of 75 miles per hour, with everyone doing 85 mph, you can make some distance! One thing though, there are a lot of highwway patrol, so using cruise control is the way to go.

Carlsbad is a dirty dusty oil town  full of pick up trucks, and one of the great wonders of the world, Carlsbad Caverns!leesa pics 315 We had an amazing time there,I recommend that you go early and wear comfy walking shoes.  We chose to walk down into the caverns and take  the elevator up. The whole adventure was about 3 hours, with an audio headphone giving you the history and information. We both left feeling inspired relaxed and ready for some aliens!leesa pics 319       

We arrived in Rosswell later that afternoon, home of the alien ship crash landing on a ranchers land in 1947. The Roswell UFO Musuem leesa pics 330 was cheesy, but very fun and informative too. We really liked the way they laid out the info and let you decide. I always felt something happened out there, and we both left more convinced there was a cover up!leesa pics 334

Santa Fe was everything I thought it would be and more! We drove into town with the sun setting, so beautiful! I knew Iwas going to love this place and it’s energy. I couldn’t wait to go to a yoga class and wasn’t dissappointed. I found Yoga Source online and went excited to do the two hour class. The studio was so inviting and low key, I loved it. * Ali Mcgraw the actress and yoga enthusiast was in my class, cool! Side note, I’m not holding my breath for Jack to join me, maybe in Sedona.

 We drove out to the artisan community of Taos and were blown away by the beauty of the drive. The Rio Grande River and all the gorgeous foliage was spectacular. Jack and I shopped a little, and went to The Historic Taos Inn   famous for margaritas, Jacks fav) and my new cocktail. It’s called, I need a miracle! Top shelf tequila, pomengranate syrup, and freshly squeezed lime juice,heavenly.leesa pics 351 We had so much fun together in Santa Fe, as well as some fantastic food, accomodations and service in all of  New Mexico. I can’t wait to come back stay longer and maybe ski next time.leesa pics 338

We did a bit of Route 66leesa pics 369 as we drove into Albuquerque, heading for the Standard Diner. This place is well known, and was on Diners, Drive ins and Dives. We had a tasty lunch, BLT with avocado and truffle fries, and headed for the Petrified Forest Arizona.leesa pics 380  It was quite a fascinating place with trees over 150 million years old, but I wish people wouldn’t  litter in a National Park! Well I have to go to bed, we are up early for a picnic and  hiking in the Red Rock Crossing State Park. It’s the most photographed place in Arizona, and has the most electromagnetic energy in North America. Until next time….

One response »

Leave a comment